Blog / EPPP Exam Simulator: Which Prep Programs Have One (2026)

EPPP Exam Simulator: Which Prep Programs Have One (2026)

Anders Chan, Psy.D.
epppEPPP exam simulatorEPPP practice examfull-length EPPP practice examEPPP prep comparison

Short answer: an EPPP exam simulator is a full-length practice exam that matches the real test's shape, 225 questions in 4 hours and 15 minutes, weighted to ASPPB's domain blueprint, with your score held until the end. Six prep programs say they offer one. AATBS lists 8 full-length exams inside self-study packages from $849 to $1,449. Taylor Study Method and Academic Review promise "unlimited" practice exams at $199 to $299 a month and $139 a month. PrepJet and PsychPrep list full-length or online tests without stating a count. thePsychology.ai has 16 full practice exams, timed to the real 4 hours 15 minutes, for $60 a month or $349 a year after a 7-day free trial with no card. ASPPB sells its own sample exam for $30. Every price and count on this page was read on the vendor's own site on September 10, 2026.

If you searched "EPPP exam simulator," you probably know the content already. What you want is a dress rehearsal: the stamina, the pacing, the feeling of question 190 with 40 minutes left. This page tells you who actually sells that, what it costs, and what you can try before paying.

I'm Dr. Anders Chan. I scored 588 on the EPPP and built thePsychology.ai, so I have a horse in this race. I'll say where ours falls short too.

What a real EPPP exam simulator has to match

ASPPB's candidate handbook sets the target. The Knowledge exam has 225 items, 50 of them unscored pretest items, and you get 4 hours and 15 minutes for the exam items. That works out to about 68 seconds a question, with no feedback until you finish.

So a simulator earns the name when it is full length, timed to that clock, weighted across the eight content domains, and silent until you submit. Ten questions with instant explanations is a study tool. Useful, but it cannot tell you whether you can hold focus for four hours. If you want the longer case for why the shape matters, Free EPPP Practice Test: What a Real One Looks Like covers it.

Which EPPP prep programs have an exam simulator

ProgramFull-length exams listedQuestion bankPrice (read September 10, 2026)Try before paying
AATBS8 full-length exams4,000$849 (3 months) to $1,449 (12 months), self-studyNone listed
PsychPrep"Online tests," count not statedNot stated$199 to $1,419 per package (1 to 9 months), plus renewal feesPhone consult only, no trial listed
Taylor Study Method"Unlimited access to full-length practice exams"3,800+$299/mo Full Program, $199/mo Exams OnlyNone listed
Academic Review"Unlimited practice exams"2,200$139/mo, or $599 for 6 monthsNone listed
PrepJet"Full-length exams," count not stated1,500+$159 to $429/mo, less on 3-month and 6-month plansFree trial, no card
thePsychology.ai16 full practice exams, timed to 4 h 15 min3,000+$60/mo or $349/yr7-day free trial, no card
ASPPB sample exam (SEPPPO)Two forms of the official sample examRetired EPPP items$30 online, $82.50 at a Pearson centerThis is the paid option

Three notes on reading that table.

AATBS, Taylor Study Method, and Academic Review are one company selling at three price points, so their "8 exams" and "unlimited exams" are different doors into related material. The full six-program comparison, with lessons and support included, is in Best EPPP Prep Programs Compared.

"Unlimited" is not the same as "many." Unlimited exams drawn from a fixed bank start repeating. A score on questions you have already seen measures your memory of that bank, not the material. Ask any vendor how many distinct full-length forms they have before you pay.

PsychPrep publishes its prices as an image and lists "online tests" in every package without a count, so I can only report what the image shows.

What you can try free

  • Our free 100-question exam, no signup. The free EPPP practice exam covers all eight domains, scores you as you go, and explains every answer. One honest note: it runs in study mode. You see each answer immediately and there is no clock, so it is practice, not a simulation. The full timed sims are inside the 7-day trial.
  • Our 50 free questions with rationales. Start with free EPPP practice questions if you want to learn the item style before you sit a full exam.
  • PrepJet's free trial includes a diagnostic exam and needs no card, according to its homepage.
  • ASPPB's sample exam is not free, but $30 is the cheapest way to sit the official interface. ASPPB itself says the sample exams use retired items and are "not recommended" for finding where to study. What they do give you is the real formatting and functionality. Details in SEPPO EPPP Practice Exam.

What your simulator score means

Among members who reported real EPPP results to us, the eleven who peaked at 83% or better on a full-length timed practice exam all passed. The one who took more than a dozen sims and never crossed 75% did not. That is 28 self-reports, not a pass rate, and the full table with its caveats is in What Practice Exam Score Predicts Passing the EPPP?. The practical read: the number on a full-length timed sim told the truth in both directions. Believe it.

How to use one well

  1. Take the first one early. A timed sim in week one builds the plan. The same sim in the last week only tells you your fate with extra steps.
  2. Fix gaps between sims, not by taking more sims. In our reports, the sims that helped were the ones followed by targeted repair. Volume alone did not move anyone across the line. Two or three full sims spaced across a study window is plenty.
  3. Sit it like test day. One sitting, timed, breaks only where the real exam allows them. Your first full sim usually feels rough. That is the point of meeting the wall in practice.

Where thePsychology.ai falls short here

Sixteen exams is a fixed number, so if you burn through all of them in a month you will start seeing repeats. Space them out. Our free exam is not timed, which I said above and will say again because people skim. And we do not sell print volumes or live coaching; if you want a person on a call, PsychPrep and Taylor Study Method build that in.

Start here

Take one full timed sim this week. Start the 7-day free trial, no card, and you will know in four hours where you stand. The plain price after that is on the pricing page.

Frequently asked questions

Is there a free EPPP exam simulator?

Partly. Our free 100-question exam is scored and needs no signup, but it runs in study mode with no clock, so it is practice rather than a simulation. Full timed 225-question sims are inside thePsychology.ai's 7-day free trial with no card, and PrepJet's free trial includes a diagnostic exam. ASPPB's official sample exam costs $30 per attempt.

How long is the EPPP exam?

225 questions, 50 of them unscored pretest items, in 4 hours and 15 minutes, per ASPPB's candidate handbook. That is about 68 seconds per question.

How many full-length EPPP practice exams should I take?

Two or three, spaced across your study window, with gap repair between them. In our member reports the score on a full-length timed sim was the readiness signal. The count of sims was not.

Sources

Anders Chan, Psy.D. is a licensed psychologist and the founder of thePsychology.ai. He passed the EPPP on his first attempt with a score of 588 after starting from a 19% diagnostic.

0:00--:--
Beta

Candidates who read this also read

Preparing for the EPPP?

thePsychology.ai offers AI-adaptive prep with 80+ lessons, practice exams, and personalized study plans.